My Playlist: A Comeback

Lately I have found myself spending more time on other sites than on my own.  It’s hard to imagine that there are people on Xanga who are even cooler than me, but it’s true.

Well, cool people aside, it’s time for a comeback.  I’m talking about music.

Little do you know, I am a listener of music.  (I know, I am coming out of the closet here.)  Some of you may have suspected this from the autoplay songs that rip through your speakers every time you click on my site.  But, you couldn’t be sure.  Well, I have something I need to tell you.  Your premonitions were right all along.    :  o

Indeed, I have been compiling playlists of songs for years, usually in the dark of night.  *exhales slowly*  It feels so good to finally get this off my chest!

Having made that announcement, I have another one I would like to share with you.  On request from a reader, I have compiled a playlist of songs, my first of 2010.  (And probably my last, judging from the calendar.)  I have arranged the songs in a specific order.  The playlist begins with songs that I consider to be gloomy, or at least reflective.  Then, in the middle of the playlist, the music makes a “comeback,” if you will.  The songs turn more upbeat.  My playlists generally have a purpose, or at least some type of subtle design.

Before you get your hopes up, I must temper your expectations by conceding that most of the list is made up of fairly recent pop songs.  There is nothing earth-shattering here, and probably not much you haven’t already heard.  That said, the beauty is in the selection and sequencing.  So, if you want to truly appreciate the list, it is important to play the songs in order.

 

“A COMEBACK”

1.  Impossible – Shontelle

          My opinion: Best song of 2010.  I get chills from the emotion the artist puts into the song.  A first-class gem.

2.  Just A Dream – Nelly

          Another emotion-packed song.  Good flow.

3.  The Life – Hinder

          This song just came out yesterday.  I always like to put at least one very recent song on my lists, sorta like a date stamp.

4.  Alejandro – Lady Gaga

          Come on.  Lady Gaga?  Easy call.

5.  The Letdown – The White Tie Affair

          This one by my site’s namesake is certain to please.

6.  Don’t You Wanna Stay – Jason Aldean & Kelly Clarkson

           Okay, I gotta sneak at least one country(esque?) song on here.  Plus, it’s a duet with two of my favorite artists of the past decade.

7.  Des Moines – The Drams

          This song has grown on me!  A charming little indy ditty that takes my mind to a place my body has never been.

8.  We R Who We R – Ke$ha

          A modern anthem for youth.  The lyrics seem care-free on paper, but not to the ear; the vibes are down to business. 

9.  OMG – Usher

          Another song that has grown on me over time.  The “pivot song” of the list – it separates the mellow from the upbeat. 

10.  Heartbeat Song – The Futureheads

          The first upbeat song, stolen from another playlist.  (You know who you are.)   &nbsp This heartbeat song is more than just good — it’s the one. ; )

11.  All I Do Is Win – DJ Khaled, et al.

          That’s all he do.

12.  Cooler Than Me – Mike Posner

          Have you heard this one lately??   :  P    (note to future readers: this will not make sense a week from now)

13.  Still Feels So Good – Twista

          While listening to Kamikaze recently, I was dumbstruck that in seven years I had never put this song on a playlist.   That needed to change.

14.  Son’s Gonna Rise – Citizen Cope

          A smooth, infectious tune.

15.  Tiffany Blews – Fall Out Boy

          Like many Fall Out Boy creations, this song is a gem of the finest cut.  Patrick Stump’s solo album drops in February.

16.  Sing – My Chemical Romance

          I love the defiance of this song. 

17.  Allow Me To Introduce Myself (Mr. Right) – The White Tie Affair

          The first song on this site, the last song on this list.  We’ve come right back to where we started.

 

So there you have it, my little masterpiece. 

Now I’m gonna burn this on a CD and see how long it takes me to wear it out!    :  )

6 thoughts on “My Playlist: A Comeback

  1. I was in pretty much agreement with all your songs, but you just had to slip some Lady Gaga and Ke$ha in there. :p I didn’t know Patrick was coming out with a cd in February!!! That’s exciting. Did you ever hear his cover of So Sick that’s originally by Ne-yo? You should listen to it if you haven’t. 

  2. @sunflowersforlove –  Haha, I’m glad you liked most of them. When I first heard songs by Ke$ha, I never thought she would find her way onto one of my playlists. But, I also try to pick songs based on their quality and “fit” with the others on the list, not by what I think of the artist. And, I think We R Who We R actually goes well with the other songs. Plus, the song has a uniquely modern sound. So, I am just as surprised as you are, but that’s why I decided to put Ke$ha on the list.As for Lady Gaga, I make no apologies. : PNo, I have not heard that cover. I will have to check it out.Thanks for the feedback!

Leave a comment